Skip to content

Coffee shop talk

March 5, 2010

As I made my way through the Trade Show, I somehow managed to find a very influential individual in the herd of farmers. Mr. Sorghum as many would describe, Bruce Maunder, worked for Dekalb from 1960 to 1996 as an influential plant breeder. Through our conversation at the United Sorghum Checkoff Program booth, I learned Maunder is a pretty interesting person and loves to talk sorghum. I honestly felt we should have been drinking coffee at the local coffee shop. During his career he developed between 100 and 150 new hybrid seeds for grain and forage use.  Maunder now retired and serves as the research adviser for the National Grain Sorghum Producers in Lubbock, Texas, after working with Dekalb for 36 years.

Bruce Maunder proudly represents the United Sorghum Checkoff Program at Commodity Classic.

Comments are closed.

